Álvaro Siza Vieira, architect FAUP

1988: Alvar Aalto Medal; 1992: Pritzker Architecture Prize; 2001: Wolf Prize; 2009: RIBA Gold Medal; 2011: UIA Gold Medal 

by Carapau Portuguese Products

endangered animal species

Children's luxury

Eduardo Souto de Moura, architect FAUP

2011: Pritzker Architecture Prize; 2013: Wolf Prize 

Álvaro Siza and Souto de Moura truly define the traditional role of an architect, in the old sense of the world, for not only do they design the buildings but they design the furniture, lighting and fixings housed within. Often the pieces are named after the buildings which they were designed for.

Their furniture are still made by the same carpenters. Each piece meticulously made to exquisite details and exacting standards of workmanship, stamped with initials to authenticate the piece.